Touhou Arrange Music

Fuck 3D

If there’s one thing I have disagreed with technologically in the past 5 years, it’s this whole 3D craze.

What’s the hook? Why the craze? What is it about a blade of grass or spec of dirt that looks as it should be that causes people to freak the freak out. Do they really think it adds some new dimension to their movie watching experience? I have to give it multiple chances, and I can not objectively say that it does.

A friend of mine said this:

I genuinely feel bad that I know 100% I’ll end up getting a 3ds
probably soon
but as soon as I buy it I’m turning 3d mode off before I even turn it on
and I’m never flipping the switch back

Marketing ploys are no new thing. 3D is just the newest. Screw technology and it’s perpetuating scheme to rob ignorant people of their money. Could be used for more useful things.

I will never put on a pair of 3D glasses ever again.

7 responses

  1. FstrthnU

    Wearing 3D glasses is like having Rumia or Mystia blind you every time you watch a movie. “WTH I can’t see anything! It’s too dark!”

    Unfortunately, this is probably the best we’ll have until we perfect holograms

    June 16, 2011 at 6:04 am

  2. I view 3D like Motion Control. It starts out pretty shitty but neat, then it gets usable but just a gimmick, and eventually it starts to be used in moderation and in a proper way that adds to the effect of the movie/game/whatever.

    We’re just in the usable gimmick stage.

    June 16, 2011 at 1:09 pm

  3. Egakiar444

    Couldn’t agree more with you. Fuck it. I was going to 3D movies as a kid and hating every minute of it, which is why I still can’t stand it now. It’s an excuse to charge more at movie theatres and a useless gimmick.

    June 19, 2011 at 7:08 am

  4. Blindboy

    What I have been saying since this craze has been going on.
    You never know, 5 years from now I’m sure people will be thinking ” What the hell were we thinking ?!? ”
    All stuff dies off, it kind of already has if you think about it.

    June 22, 2011 at 5:54 pm

  5. anonymous

    Your title was misleading. For a moment I thought you were referring to 3D females.
    Because we all know 2D females > 3D females.
    Either way, I can agree with you on this topic as well.

    July 12, 2011 at 11:33 pm

  6. ParadoxNG

    I will never buy a 3DS simply because there’s no hope of it having any good games which don’t rely on the retarded 3D gimmick which I have no interest in. It’s a total reenactment of the Wii, which had good first-party games which all heavily utilised motion control, and got boring very quickly, and an entirely terrible library of third-party games, with the sole exception of Monster Hunter Tri, which didn’t use the motion control at all (aside from a rubbish optional control scheme); and it was a game which rightfully should’ve been on Xbox 360/PS3 to utilise their superior power.

    July 23, 2011 at 11:54 pm

  7. Anonymous

    3DS is a step in the right direction, at least they got rid of the 80’s glasses. Still horrible though. Why the sudden boom anyway? It’s not like much have changed from some years ago.

    Advertising 3D is like going back in time advertising color TV.

    August 25, 2011 at 10:45 am

Leave a Reply

